Our Montessori Class

The Montessori classroom is divided in to five areas:
    • The Sensorial.
    • The Practical Life.
    • The Language.
    • The Math.
    • The Cultural Area.



The sensorial cabinet includes materials which help children develop, broaden and refine their five senses (Sight, Hearing, Taste, Touch and Smell). These materials are specifically designed to help the child develop discrimination and order in their environment

Practical Life

The purpose of Practical Life is to help children gain control in the coordination of their movement, gain experience and adjust to their society. The exercises in Practical Life provide purposeful activity and develop independence, concentration and responsibility.


The Montessori classroom is designed in such way that all the activities promote the development of skills required for oral and written language and reading. In the language area precise names are used for all the objects and vocabulary classifications and matching exercises enrich vocabulary.


Learning mathematical concepts in a Montessori classroom begins concretely and progresses towards the abstract. They are developed from simple to complex. Order, coordination, concentration and independence are experienced by the child using these materials.


In the Montessori classroom, the Cultural Area covers a variety of subjects such as Geography, Science, Botany, Zoology and History. Maria Montessori believed that knowledge of such subjects is what makes a person cultured.